Jack's Journal 5

Hey y’all, Jack here!

Welcome back to another edition of Jack’s Journal. Get ready to jump into the mind of pro pickleball player on and off the court.

Before We Dive In…

This edition is sponsored by ProXR

Having tried many paddles before landing on ProXR, I can personally attest to their quality and performance. Not only do they make exceptional paddles, but they also have a world-class team behind the brand. My personal choice, "The Standard" 14mm, embodies remarkable grit alongside a perfect balance of power and responsiveness.

Now Let’s Get Into Things…

1. Life Update

This month, the power of compounding truly worked in my favor as several unique opportunities came my way. It felt like a snowball effect, where each opportunity built upon the last, leading to significant growth and progress in various aspects of my life.

  • APP Sacramento: Bronze Medal

    • Even though it was just a bronze medal, John Cincola and I know that we are capable of beating anyone in the draw. I can feel myself getting closer and closer to that Championship Sunday…

  • MLP Challenger Draft: Chicago Slice

    • Going second overall in the challenger draft was surreal! Not only do we have a team full of killers, we have amazing management providing guidance and support every step of the way. Really looking to lift that trophy at the end of this year!

    • Check out the announcement video here

  • New Endorsement: F3 Energy

    • While this has been in talks for a while now, I’m super excited to be an F3 Energy Athlete! I am a firm believer of only endorsing products that you can personally attest to, and F3 Energy is legitimately the best energy drink on the market. Even if you don’t want energy, their caffeine free option is amazing, and offers some unique physical benefits as well.

    • Check out the store right here

2. The 4 Types of Luck

“I don’t get lucky. I make my own luck” — Agree or Disagree?

My most recent rabbit hole has been on the idea of luck, and whether it can truly be “created” or not.

Dr. James Austin, a neurologist and philosopher, wrote a book called Chase, Chance, and Creativity, on the role of luck, chance, and serendipity in medical research. In the book, Dr. Austin outlines his theory of the four kinds of luck:

  1. Blind Luck: This is the type of luck that is purely random and unpredictable, such as winning the lottery or stumbling upon a valuable opportunity by chance. It's referred to as “dumb luck” because it doesn't involve any particular skill or effort on the part of the individual. While it can lead to favorable outcomes, relying on dumb luck alone is not a sustainable strategy for success.

    1. “Right place, right time”.

  2. Luck by Motion: This type of luck is earned through sheer persistence and effort. It's about constantly seeking opportunities and putting in the work to make things happen. The analogy of the blind squirrel finding an acorn illustrates the idea that even without specific skills or expertise, consistent effort can eventually lead to positive outcomes. Luck in motion rewards those who are willing to keep trying despite setbacks and failures.

    1. “Take more swings at bat”.

  3. Luck From Awareness: This type of luck is based on the ability to recognize opportunities and position oneself to take advantage of them. It's about being prepared and having the judgment to make the right decisions when opportunities arise. This type of luck is often the result of experience and thoughtful reflection on past experiences, leading to a kind of "pattern recognition" that allows individuals to capitalize on opportunities that others might miss.

    1. “Chance favors the prepared mind”

  4. Luck by Uniqueness: This is the most elusive type of luck, and it's based on who you are as a person. It's about building a reputation and integrity that attracts good luck. This type of luck is often associated with individuals (Ex- Warren Buffet) who have established themselves as experts or leaders in their field, attracting opportunities and success as a result of their reputation. It's about creating a track record of authenticity and integrity that makes you the kind of person good things happen to.

    1. “Chance comes to you, unsought, because of who you are and how you behave.”

While luck may seem like a random force, Dr. Austin's framework illustrates that it can be influenced by our actions and mindset. By recognizing the different types of luck and how they manifest in our lives, we can strive to cultivate the kind of luck that leads to meaningful opportunities and successes.

3. When to Outsource Work?

As evidenced by my lack of commitment to this newsletter, the past month has been incredibly hectic, with my heavy workload not pairing well with my busy schedule. With so many new and exciting opportunities coming my way, I needed to find a way to free up as much in my day as possible. Since I spend so much time

Why did I decide to hire an editor now?

  1. Buy My Time Back: As my time becomes more and more valuable, this enables me to free up more time to focus on the higher ROI items such as training, building my business, etc.

  2. Provide More Structure: Working with an editor forces me to create a system with regards to how I create and structure my content. Everything from how to find the right hook to how I find trending audios must be outlined in an easy-to-digest structure before I relay this information over to them.

  3. Give Objective Feedback: I want my editor to provide constructive criticism on my reels and identify areas that may need improvement or clarification that I might overlook due to my familiarity with the content. This will help me to see my work from a viewer’s perspective and make suggestions for improvement based on their set of eyeballs.

Well, I hope you guys got some value out of this, and I look forward to seeing y’all in a couple weeks!

- Jack Munro